Fire Education Advisory Commission Division of Fire Safety Special Meeting of August 31, 2022

Minutes

The Missouri Fire Safety Education / Advisory Commission works to provide training and continuing education to the fire service throughout Missouri.

Portions of this meeting may be closed pursuant to RSMo 610.021 (11 & 12)

Meeting called to order by Commission President Greg Brown Fire Education Advisory Commission Present: (via webex) Greg Brown, Dan Manley, Bruce Lipe

A quorum was not obtained.

Staff Present: (Via webex) Tim Bean, Greg Landwehr, Matt Luetkemeyer, Jessica Prewett

Guests Present: none

This special meeting was requested by Deputy Chief of Training, Greg Landwehr.

Purpose of the meeting was to inform the commission of the awarding to the Division of Fire Safety the FY21 AFG grant.

This grant is for the purchase of a complete exterior burn prop package to include an enclosed trailer with winch, generator, two 420lb propane tanks and all necessary equipment to transport and operate the following props:

Car Fire Prop Dumpster fire prop Horizontal Propane Tank Prop Burn pan

This equipment, along with the mobile burn trailer, will be used to support Fire Fighter I and/or II course deliveries by departments that don't have access to these props and/or the money to bring in a vendor for the training and/or testing. We do supplement some of this training and testing by utilizing General Revenue appropriated for training, however the requests far exceed the dollars available from the training funds.

Before we accept this grant award by the due date of 9/18/2022, the Division is requesting a webex special meeting with the commission for the approval of using Fire Education Funds to meet the required grant match since the next regular commission meeting is scheduled after the award acceptance deadline on October 5, 2022. The Division's maximum match for this grant is \$14,463.92. The federal portion is \$96,426.08. The Fire Education Funds are not part of the General Revenue funds appropriated from the legislatures. This fund is generated from fireworks permits and licensing.

After a brief discussion, it was decided that Deputy Chief Landwehr send out an email to each commissioner to vote on whether they approve (yea vote) or deny (no vote) to accept this grant award. Pending the results of the poll, a formal motion would be made at the next commission meeting to ratify the poll results.

Poll results were Dan Manley – Yea, Greg Brown – Yea, Brian Zaitz – Yea, Traci Wiley – Yea, Bruce Lipe – Yea, Allen Braun – Yea, Jim Ludden – Yea, no response from Todd Grey

Grant is approved to be accepted by the Division.