



I. Requirements for Licensed Operator/Pyrotechnic Operator

Missouri Revised Statute 320.106 defines a "Licensed Operator" as "any person who supervises, manages, or directs the discharge of outdoor display fireworks, either by manual or electrical means; who has met additional requirements established by promulgated rule and has successfully completed a display fireworks training course recognized and approved by the state fire marshal."

A "Pyrotechnic Operator" or "Special Effects Operator" is defined as "an individual who has responsibility for pyrotechnic safety and who controls, initiates, or otherwise creates special effects for proximate fireworks and who has met additional requirements established by promulgated rules and has successfully completed a proximate fireworks training course recognized and approved by the state fire marshal."

Individuals seeking to be a Licensed Operator and/or Pyrotechnic Operator shall meet following criteria:

- 1. Submit a completed "Application for Licensed Operator/Pyrotechnic Operator License";
- 2. Applicant must be at least 21 years of age;
- 3. Have successfully completed a display and/or proximate training course approved by the State Fire Marshal;
- 4. Successfully pass a test administered by the Missouri Division of Fire Safety;
- 5. Provide documentation affirming active participation in the performance of at least three display or proximate fireworks shows within the past 24 months. If applying for both a licensed operator (display fireworks) and pyrotechnic operator license (proximate fireworks) documentation of six displays (3 display fireworks and 3 proximate fireworks) are required;
- 6. Applicant shall not have pleaded guilty to a felony or been convicted of a felony.
- 7. Copy of U.S. Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives permit/license verifying compliance with applicable federal laws relating to possession, sales, storage or use of display and/or proximate fireworks if applicable.
- 8. Copy of a valid state driver's license or state ID card;
- 9. Provide two passport type photographs;
- 10. A check, money order, or bank draft in the amount of \$100 (U.S.) payable to the Missouri Division of Fire Safety.



II. Licensed Operator/Pyrotechnic Operator by Equivalency

Equivalency may be granted to an individual certified and/or licensed by another state upon proof of such licensing/certification. This equivalency relieves an individual from the requirement of successful completion of a display/proximate training course approved by the State Fire Marshal. However, the individual would still be required to successfully pass the Missouri examination.

An individual applying for licensing as a Licensed Operator and/or Pyrotechnic Operator must meet the following criteria:

- 1. Submit a completed "Application for Licensed Operator/Pyrotechnic Operator License."
- 2. Applicant must be at least 21 years of age;
- 3. Provide a copy of a current license/certificate from another state;
- 4. Must successfully pass a test administered by the Missouri Division of Fire Safety;
- 5. Provide documentation affirming active participation in the performance of at least three (3) display or proximate fireworks shows within the past 24 months. If applying for both a licensed operator (display fireworks) and pyrotechnic operator license (proximate fireworks) documentation of six displays (3 display fireworks and 3 proximate fireworks) are required;
- 6. Applicant shall not have pleaded guilty or been convicted of a felony;
- 7. If applicable, provide a copy of U.S. Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives permit/license verifying compliance with applicable federal laws relating to possession, sales, storage or use of display and/or proximate fireworks;
- 8. Copy of a valid state driver's license or state ID card;
- 9. Provide two passport type photographs;
- 10. A check, money order, or bank draft in the amount of \$100 (U.S.) payable to the Missouri Division of Fire Safety.



III. Renewal Requirements for Licensed Operator/Pyrotechnic Operator

Missouri regulations require the Licensed Operators and Pyrotechnic Operators to renew their license every three years with the Division of Fire Safety.

License for a Licensed Operator and/or Pyrotechnic Operator will be issued to those individuals who have met the following criteria:

- 1. Submit a completed "Application for Licensed Operator/Pyrotechnic Operator License";
- 2. Provide proof/documentation of having attended a minimum of 12 hours of approved continuing education within the past three years relating to pyrotechnics;
- 3. Provide proof/documentation of actively participating in at least three fireworks displays and/or three proximate fireworks displays in the past three years;
- 4. Applicant shall not have pleaded guilty or been convicted of a felony;
- 5. If applicable, copy of U.S. Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives permit/ license verifying compliance with applicable federal laws relating to possession, sales, storage or use of display and/or proximate fireworks;
- 6. Copy of a valid state driver's license or state ID card;
- 7. Provide two passport type photographs;
- 8. A check, money order, or bank draft in the amount of \$100 (U.S.) payable to the Missouri Division of Fire Safety.



IV. Testing for Licensed Operator/Pyrotechnic Operator

Individuals applying to test as a Licensed Operator and/or Pyrotechnic Operator must submit the "Application for Licensed Operator/Pyrotechnic Operator Examination" to be eligible to take the examination. Applications must be received by the Division of Fire Safety no least than 20 business days prior to the scheduled exam date. Preregistration is required for any examination.

Scheduled examinations are held at the Missouri Division of Fire Safety Headquarters at 205 Jefferson, 13th floor, Jefferson City, Mo. Exam schedules are posted on the Division of Fire Safety website, *www.dfs.dps.mo.gov*, or can be obtained by contacting the Division at (573)751-2930.

The examination for Licensed Operators consists of 50 multiple choice questions referenced to the current edition of NFPA 1123, *Code for Fireworks Display and Missouri Revised Statute 320.106 through 320.161*. Participants have two hours in which to complete the exam. Participants are allowed to use the applicable copy of NFPA 1123 and Missouri Fireworks Regulations during the exam. *The Division will furnish copies of NFPA 1123 and Missouri Fireworks Regulations during the exam.*

The examination for Pyrotechnic Operators consists of 50 multiple choice questions referenced to the current edition of NFPA 1126, *Standard for the Use of Pyrotechnics before a Proximate Audience and Missouri Revised Statute 320.106 through 320.161*. Participants have two hours in which to complete the exam. Participants are allowed to use a copy of the applicable edition of NFPA 1126 and Missouri Fireworks Regulations during the exam. *The Division will furnish copies of NFPA 1126 and Missouri Fireworks Regulations during the exam.*

Individuals must achieve a score of 70% to pass the examination. The Division of Fire Safety will score all exams and applicants will be notified by letter accordingly within 30 days of the exam. Notification will indicate only pass/fail status.

An applicant failing the exam must wait 30 days before retesting. A retest may be scheduled by contacting the Division of Fire Safety at 573-751-2930.

Should an applicant fail the exam a second time, he or she must retake an approved training course before being allowing to retest for the same license.

If an applicant has not tested, taken a retest, or completed the licensing process <u>within one</u> <u>year of course completion</u>, his or her testing records will be deemed inactive and the entire course must be taken again to be eligible to test.



Requirements for Examination Eligibility

Only those individuals who have met the following criteria and provided the required documentation will be permitted to take the examination(s) for Licensed Operator and/or Pyrotechnic Operator:

- 1. Submit a completed "Application for Licensed Operator/Pyrotechnic Operator Examination"
- 2. Applicant must be at least 21 years of age
- 3. Have successfully completed a display and/or proximate fireworks training course approved by the Division of Fire Safety
- 4. Applicant shall not have pleaded guilty or been convicted of a felony
- 5. If applicable, copy of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives permit/license verifying compliance with applicable federal laws relating to possession, sales, storage or use of display and/or proximate fireworks
- 6. Copy of a valid state driver's license or state ID card



V. Licensed Operator/Pyrotechnic Operator Course Approval

The Missouri Division of Fire Safety serves as the sole approval agency for Licensed Operator/Pyrotechnic Operator training courses acceptable for Missouri licensing.

Individuals or companies seeking approval for training courses must submit a "Request for Fireworks Course Approval" to the Division of Fire Safety with the required documentation before any course will be approved.

The Division shall conduct a review of course materials before granting approval and notify the submitting individual or company of the results of that review.

A list of approved training courses will be available on the Division of Fire Safety website *www.dfs.dps.mo.gov* or can be obtained by contacting the Division at (573)751-2930.

<u>Requirements of Course Approval</u>

Courses meeting the following criteria will be reviewed and the results will be sent to the submitting individual(s) or company:

- 1. Completed "Request for Fireworks Course Approval" application
- 2. Copy of Instructor's Guide
- 3. Copy of Instructor's Qualifications
- 4. Copy of Student Guide and/or handout materials



VI. Application for Display (Outdoor) Fireworks Permit

Missouri Revised Statute 320.126 states:

"Permits for display or proximate fireworks may be granted to municipalities, fair associations, amusement parks, organizations, persons, firms or corporations. Such permits may be granted upon application and approval by the state fire marshal or local fire service authorities of the community where the display is proposed to be held. All applications submitted for display or proximate fireworks permits, must be submitted to the office of the state fire marshal a minimum of ten working days prior to the date of the event. The application shall be made on a form provided or approved by the state fire marshal. Every such display shall be supervised, managed, or directed by a Missouri licensed operator, or pyrotechnic operator on site pursuant to subsections 11 and 18 of section 320.106 and shall be located, discharged, or fired so as in the opinion of the permitting authority, after proper inspection based on the most current edition of the National Fire Protection Association standards, NFPA 1123, 1124, and 1126, to not be hazardous to any person or property. After a permit has been granted, the sale, possession, use and distribution of fireworks for such display shall be lawful for that purpose only. A copy of all permits issued for display or proximate fireworks shall be forwarded by the permit holder to the state fire marshal's office. No permit granted hereunder shall be transferable and shall apply to only one location. No holder of a manufacturer or distributor permit shall sell, barter, or transfer display or proximate fireworks to anyone not possessing an applicable permit or license."

Individuals or companies seeking a permit for display fireworks must complete the "Application for Display Fireworks" and submit it with the required documentation at least 10 working days prior to the date of the display. Any application submitted in less than 10 working days or incomplete applications may be denied.

All applications for display fireworks will be reviewed and approved by the Missouri Division of Fire Safety for compliance with all laws and applicable safety standards before a permit is issued. All reviews and inspections are based on the current editions of National Fire Protection Standards: NFPA 1123, NFPA 1124, and NFPA 1126.



Required documentation to be included with the "Application for Display Fireworks:

- 1. A site diagram of the location where the display will be conducted. An incomplete site diagram will be rejected and delay the permit process. The diagram is not required to be to scale but must include the following:
 - a. Fallout radius for the largest shell to be fired during the display;
 - b. The points at which the shells and/or cakes are to be fired;
 - c. Locations of significant buildings, public roadways, overhead obstructions, and utilities at the site;
 - d. The location of the lines behind which spectators are restricted indicating distances in feet;
 - e. Indicate magnetic north.
- 2. Copy of certificate of liability insurance with policy limit amounts of no less than one million dollars (\$1,000,000)
- 3. Copy of U.S. Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives license/permit
- 4. Copy of a valid Missouri Display Operator License for the listed display operator
- 5. Copies of material safety data sheets (MSDS) for the pyrotechnic materials to be used
- 6. A check, money order, or bank draft in the amount of \$100 (U.S.) payable to the Missouri Division of Fire Safety



VII. Application for Proximate (Indoor) Fireworks Permit

Individuals or companies seeking a permit for proximate fireworks display must complete the "Application for Proximate Fireworks Display" and submit such with the required documentation at least 10 working days prior to the date of the display. Any application submitted in less than 10 working days or incomplete applications may be denied.

All applications will be reviewed for compliance with all laws and applicable safety standards and approved by the Missouri Division of Fire Safety before the permit is issued. All reviews and inspections are based on the most current edition of the National Fire Protection Association Standards: NFPA 1123, NFPA 1124, NFPA 1126, and NFPA 101 Life Safety Code or equivalent nationally recognized code in relation to means of egress, occupancy load, and automatic sprinkler and fire alarm systems.

Required documentation to be included with the "Application for Proximate Display Fireworks":

- 1. A site diagram of the area where the display will be conducted. An incomplete site diagram will be rejected and delay the permit process. The diagram is not required to be to scale but must include the following:
 - a. The point at which the proximate fireworks are to be positioned and fired;
 - b. The fallout radius for each proximate fireworks used in the display
 - c. The lines behind which the spectators are restricted indicating distances in feet;
- 2. Copy of a certificate of liability insurance with policy limits in an amount of no less than one million dollars (\$1,000,000)
- 3. Copy of U.S. Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives license/permit
- 4. Copy of a valid Missouri Pyrotechnic Operator License for the listed pyrotechnic operator
- 5. Copies of material safety data sheets (MSDS) for the pyrotechnic materials to be used
- 6. Copy of certification that the set, scenery, and rigging materials meet required flameretardant standards or have been treated to achieve the flame retardant standards
- 7. A check, money order, or bank draft in the amount of \$100 (U.S.) payable to the Missouri Division of Fire Safety



VIII. Suspension, Revocation, or Denial

The State Fire Marshal may suspend, revoke, or deny any license or permit issued to any individual when it is found that the individual:

- A. Has knowingly made a material misrepresentation of any information required for licensing or permitting offered by the Division of Fire Safety, or
- B. Has knowingly by any means of false pretense, deception, fraud, misrepresentation or cheating, obtained training or licensing, or
- C. Has pleaded guilty to a felony or been convicted of a felony, or
- D. Fails to achieve a score of 70% on the Division of Fire Safety display/proximate fireworks exam



APPLICATION FOR LICENSED OPERATOR -Pyrotechnic Operator License Page 1

This entire application must be completed and submitted with the required documentation. Incomplete applications will be rejected.

License (New)	License by Equivalency	enewal
License Applying for:	Licensed Operator (Outdoor) NFPA 1123 (Fee \$100.00))
	Pyrotechnic Operator (Special Effects/Proximate) NFP	PA 1126 (Fee \$100.00)
Name:	Date of B	irth:
Address:		
City:	State:Zi	p:
Phone number:	Alternate Phone:	
Driver's License Number	r and State of Issue:	
Employer:		
Address:		
City:	State: Zi	p:
Phone number:	Alternate Phone:	
Have you ever pleaded gu	uilty to a felony or been convicted of a felony? $\Box Y$	es 🔲 No

I hereby certify that I have received with this application a copy of the fireworks laws and regulations for the state of Missouri and that I have read and understand said laws and regulations. I further certify that I have examined this application and documents submitted in support thereof and to the best of my knowledge and belief, they are true, correct, and complete.

Signature: _____ Date: ____



APPLICATION FOR LICENSED OPERATOR -PYROTECHNIC OPERATOR LICENSE

Page 2

VERIFICATION OF EXPERIENCE

Missouri regulations requires an operator to participate in at least three (3) fireworks displays verified by a Missouri licensed shooter or the event sponsor, within (24) months prior to licensing - one of which must be within the last year. If applying for both, indoor and outdoor, documenta-tion of (6) displays (3 display fireworks and 3 proximate fireworks) are required.

Date of Display:	Display Fireworks
Display Location (City/State):	
Print Name of Licensed Operator or Event Sponsor:	
Operator/Sponsor Signature:	License #:
Date of Display:	Display Fireworks
Display Location (City/State):	
Print Name of Licensed Operator or Event Sponsor:	
Operator/Sponsor Signature:	License #:
Date of Display:	Display Fireworks Fireworks
Display Location (City/State):	
Print Name of Licensed Operator or Event Sponsor:	
Operator/Sponsor Signature:	License #:

For Division of Fire Safety Use Only:		
ID Picture Received: 🗌 Yes 🗌 No		
Test Date:	Passed	☐ Failed
Signature of reviewer:		Review date:



APPLICATION FOR LICENSED OPERATOR -Pyrotechnic Operator Examination

This entire application must be completed and submitted with the required documentation. Incomplete applications will be rejected.

Examination Applying for:	Licensed Operator (Outdoor)
	Pyrotechnic Operator (Special Effects Proximate)
Test Date Requested:	Alternative Date:
Name:	Date of Birth:
Address:	
	State: Zip:
Phone number:	Email Address:
Driver's License Number and	State of Issue:
Pyrotechnic Training Course(s) Attended:
Course Instructor:	
Course Location:	Date: h Course Certificate or Documentation of Attendance)
By my signature below, I ver rect, and complete to the be	rify that the information provided on this application is true, corst of my knowledge.
Signature:	Date:
For Division of Fire Safety	y Use Only:
Test Date:	
Approved Course Com	pletion:
Notification by:	Date:



REQUEST FOR **F**IREWORKS **C**OURSE **A**PPROVAL

This entire application must be completed and submitted with the required documentation. Incomplete applications will be rejected.

Course Approval Requested for:	Display - Outdoor
	Special Effects/Proximate
Company Name:	
Address:	
City:	State: Zip:
Phone number:	Email Address:
Applicant Name:	Date of Birth:
Address:	
City:	State: Zip:
Phone number:	Email Address:
Include the following:	
Copy of Instructor's Guide	Copy of Student Guide/handout materials
Instructor's Qualifications	
By my signature below, I verify th rect, and complete to the best of r	at the information provided on this application is true, cor- ny knowledge.
Signature:	Date:
For Division of Fire Safety Use	Only:
Course Approved: 🗌 Yes	s 🗆 No
Reviewed by:	Date:



APPLICATION FOR DISPLAY FIREWORKS PERMIT Page 1

This entire application must be completed and submitted with the required documentation. Incomplete applications will be rejected.

Check one: Display	vis: Sponsored Private	
Location of display:		
Address:		
City:	County:	Zip:
Fire Department/Authority Havin	ng Jurisdiction:	
Has the Authority Having Jurisdi	iction declined to issue a permit for this dis	splay:
If so, reason for not issuing a per	rmit:	
Phone number for Fire Departme	ent/Authority Having Jurisdiction:	
Date of display:	Alternate date:	
Sponsor's Name:		
Address:		
City:	State:	Zip:
Phone number:	Alternate Phone:	
Application is being made by:		
Name:		
Address:		
City:	State:	Zip:
Phone number:	Alternate Phone:	
Driver's license number and state	e of issue:	

directed by a Missouri licensed operator or pyrotechnic operator on site."

A permit will not be issued until a licensed operator is identified on this application.

MISSOURI DIVISION OF FIRE SAFETY



DISPLAY AND PROXIMATE FIREWORKS LICENSING

APPLICATION FOR DISPLAY FIREWORKS PERMIT Page 2				
Name of operator:		Mo. Licer	nse #:	
The display will be fired:	Manually	Electrically	Combined	
Name and ages of all operator	rs and assistants who	will be present at th	his display:	
Name (print)	Age	Name (print)		Age

List the diameter size (in inches) and number of shells to be fired: (Attach additional page as needed)

Number of Shells	Size	Type of shell

I hereby certify that I have received with this application a copy of the fireworks laws and regulations for the state of Missouri and that I have read and understand said laws and regulations. I further certify that I have examined this application and documents submitted in support thereof and to the best of my knowledge and belief, they are true, correct, and complete.

Signature: _____ Date: _____

For Division of Fire Safety Use Only:	
Application is: \Box Approved \Box Not approved	
Signature of reviewer:	Review date:



APPLICATION FOR PROXIMATE FIREWORKS DISPLAY PERMIT Page 1

This entire application must be completed and submitted with the required documentation. Incomplete applications will be rejected.

Location of display:		
Address:		
City:		
Fire Department/Authority Having Jur	risdiction:	
Has the Authority Having Jurisdiction	declined to issue a permit for this disj	play:
If so, reason for not issuing a permit:		
Phone number for Fire Department/Au	thority Having Jurisdiction:	
Date of display:	Alternate date:	
Sponsor's Name:		
Address:		
City:	State:	Zip:
Phone number:	Alternate Phone:	
Application is being made by:		
Name:		
Address:		
City:	State:	Zip:
Phone number:	Alternate Phone:	
Driver's license number and state of iss	<i>sue:</i>	

A permit will not be issued until a licensed operator is identified on this application.



Name of operator:		Mo. License #:	
The display will be fired:	Manually	Electrically Combi	ned
Name and ages of all operator	rs and assistants who	will be present at this display:	
Name (print)	Age	Name (print)	Age

Check all circumstances for which application is being made:

The use of pyrotechnics in theatrical, musical, or similar productions before a proximate audience or performers.

The use of pyrotechnics while video taping, audio taping, or filming in front of or before a proximate audience or performers.

Other (explain):

I hereby certify that I have received with this application a copy of the fireworks laws and regulations for the state of Missouri and that I have read and understand said laws and regulations. I further certify that I have examined this application and documents submitted in support thereof and to the best of my knowledge and belief, they are true, correct, and complete.

Signature: _____ Date: _____

For Division of Fire Safety Use Only:	
Application is: Approved Not approved	
Signature of reviewer:	_ Review date: