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MISSIONMISSIONMISSIONMISSIONMISSION

The Division of Fire Safety provides proactive
statutory enforcement, regulatory oversight

and education to protect all lives and property
from the devastation of fires, explosions and

life safety perils.
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Certification Process

The guidelines for Fire Investigator state certification program are designed to ensure the
following:  accountability, consistency, and credibility of instruction, testing, and certification
of  fire fighters and professionals in fields related to the fire service in the State of Missouri.

Goals of the Certification Program:

1. To raise the level of fire protection for the State of Missouri.

2. To improve training and education for the fire service of Missouri.

3. Establish minimum basic training standards for fire protection personnel.

4. Issuance of certificates to persons who complete requirements for certification
and pass the required state examinations.

5. To maintain records of persons who have attained state certification.

Fire Investigator Certification is provided through the Missouri Department of Public Safety,
Division of Fire Safety.  The Missouri Division of Fire Safety shall certify Fire Investigators
based on a combination of requirements and qualifications.

The Missouri Division of Fire Safety subscribes to the policy of nondiscrimination in areas
of race, color, religion, sex, age, national origin, and the handicapped.  Entry level
qualifications are reviewed to ensure that each applicant meets the specified requirements.
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Fire Investigator Course

The Missouri Division of Fire Safety's Fire Investigator Course is designed to provide
a comprehensive program of instruction for fire investigators and those desiring a
knowledge of fire investigation.  The requirements for Fire Investigator certification are
based on the NFPA 1033-2009, Standard for Professional Qualifications for Fire
Investigator.

Successful completion of the 40 hour course and practical skill is a requirement for
eligibility to take the State Certification examination.  There will be four (4) tests totaling
100 questions given during the course.  The student will be required to score 70%
cumulatively on these tests for successful completion of the course.  In addition, students
will be required to successfully complete a practical skill exercise during the course.  This
exercise consists of a fire scene examination.  Students not passing the course will be
issued an attendance certificate.

The course shall be offered in various locations of the state as often as resources permit.
The course will be open to interested members of the fire service, law enforcement, and
private industry involved in fire investigation.  Those individuals whose primary duty is
fire investigation and who reside in the area of the course shall be given priority
admittance to the course.

The Division of Fire Safety has been approved by the Peace Officers Standards and
Training Commission as an approved POST provider.  This course is formatted to meet
the requirements for POST Continuing Education Hours and all POST regulations will
be adhered to.  This course provides 26.5  hours for Technical Studies, 5.5 hours for
Legal Studies, 4 hours for Skill Development and 5.5 hours for Interpersonal Perspec-
tives.  Students are required to be in full attendance during the course, and participate
in group discussions and activities.  POST certificates will be mailed to the student's
home address following completion of the course.

Class size will be limited and preregistration is required for admittance to the course.

The applicant must complete a Fire Investigator Course Application and submit all
required documentation as outlined in this booklet. Only complete applications will be
accepted.
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I.  Applicants General Requirements for Fire Investigator Course

Students will be selected by compliance with the following guidelines:

A. Complete course application (enclosed).

B. Prerequisite training courses (documentation of attendance must be attached
to application)

1. Completion of classes in the areas of Fire Behavior, Building Construction
and Hazardous Material - Awareness, OR possess Division of Fire Safety
Fire Fighter II certification, OR Division of Fire Safety's Fire Inspector
certification.

2. Equivalent training/experience (such as college or NFA classes) may be
substituted at the discretion of the Division of Fire Safety. A minimum of 24
hours applicable to fire investigation and/or law enforcement will be consid-
ered for attendance to the course. (Supporting documentation must be
attached.)

C. A minimum of three years experience in some phase of fire service, fire pre-
vention, fire investigation, or criminal investigation.  Experience may be in
public or private sector.

D. A letter of recommendation for course attendance from the applicant's
supervisor listing applicant’s job description and length of service (attach to
application).

E. Applicant must be of good moral character and shall not have been convicted
of or pleaded guilty to a felony.

F.  Applicant must complete an Authorization for Release of Information form
(enclosed).
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Certification of Fire Investigator

Fire Investigator Certification is provided through the Missouri Department of Public
Safety, Division of Fire Safety.  The Missouri Division of Fire Safety shall certify fire
investigators based on a combination of requirements and qualifications.

Certification is granted to those individuals who meet the required qualifications and
successfully pass the written and practical skills certification examinations.

All qualifications must be met and documentation supplied to the Division of Fire Safety
prior to admission to the examination.

Applicants have one year from the time of course completion to complete the
certification process.
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II.  Applicants General Requirements for Fire Investigator Certification

Certification shall be granted to individuals who comply with the following
guidelines:

A. Complete application for certification (enclosed).

B. Prior to taking the Fire Investigator Certification Exam, the applicant must show
documentation of completion of an approved Hazardous Materials First Re-
sponder Awareness class, as well as a Building Construction and Fire Behav-
ior Class.

C. A minimum of three years experience in some phase of fire prevention, fire
investigation, or criminal investigation.  Experience may be in public or private
sector.

D. The candidate shall possess a high school diploma or a GED certificate (attach
copy to application).

E. Submit a copy of a valid drivers license.

F. Be at least 18 years of age.

G. Have successfully completed an approved fire investigator training program
and provided verification of completion.

H. A letter from the applicant's supervisor listing applicant's job description and
attesting to the fact that the applicant's primary duties include fire investigation
and qualifications have been met.  The supervisor letter should recommend the
applicant for certification and verify the number of fires the applicant has inves-
tigated within the last 12 months (attach to application).

I. Successful completion of the State Fire Investigator certification examination
with a minimum score of 70%.

J. Successful completion of the Practical Skills evaluation conducted during the
course.

K. Applicant must complete an Authorization for Release of Information Form
(enclosed).

L. Applicant must furnish a copy of two investigation reports that the applicant has
investigated (1-accidental, 1-incendiary).
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The Division of Fire Safety Fire Investigator Certification examination will be given at
least twice annually.

The applicant will have two hours to complete the 100 question certification examination.
Each question is referenced to the material provided during the Investigator Course and
to NFPA 1033-2009.

Preparation for the test should include a review of the course materials, materials
from the Fire Behavior and Building Construction curriculum, and material from
the Hazardous Materials - Awareness curriculum.

Sample Test Question

A V-pattern on the exterior of a building may indicate:
a. point of origin
b. area of origin
c. utilities were in service
d. nothing at all

Following completion of the written examination, applicants shall be notified by the
Division of Fire Safety by letter as to whether they passed or failed.  No record will be
made or kept of an applicant's percentage score from the examination.  Tests and scores
shall be destroyed following scoring.

The student must score 70% or better on the exam in order to pass.  In the event that an
applicant fails the examination,  the applicant may apply to retake the certification
examination.The applicant has one year from the date of the course to complete the
testing and certification process. Should the applicant fail the exam a second time, he or
she must attend and successfully complete the Division of Fire Safety's Fire Investigator
Course before taking the examination again.
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IV.  Recertification

Fire Investigator Certification shall expire three years from the date of certification or
from date of recertification.

Notification of approaching expiration will be sent to the individual's home address prior
to the recertification date. The individual is responsible for supplying the Division with a
current home address.

The investigator will be required to complete the following criteria in order to renew
certification:

A. Complete and submit the Recertification Application

B. Provide documentation of 30 hours of training as a student or instructor, or any
combination, in fire investigation related courses or seminars.

Note: All courses or seminars are subject for approval by the Division of
Fire Safety.

C. Submit a letter from the applicant's supervisor listing applicant’s job descrip-
tion and attesting to the fact that the primary duty of the applicant is fire investi-
gation.  The supervisor shall verify the number of fires that the applicant has
investigated during the three year period.

In the event an individual does not submit the required documentation for recertification
as a Fire Investigator, his or her certification status will be revoked.  In order to regain
certification, that individual must retake the Division of Fire Safety Fire Investigator
course and successfully pass the Fire Investigator certification examinations.

V. Saving Clause

The qualifications developed in this program shall not be used to render invalid any rank,
qualification or appointment acquired previous to the adoption of this certification
program.
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VI.  Applying for Fire Investigator Equivalency/Reciprocity

For both Equivalency and Reciprocity, the candidate must mail in all documentation.
Application must be original; all other documentation may be copies. The Division of Fire
Safety will not accept any faxed or emailed applications.

Equivalency
Individuals not holding certification accredited by the International Fire Service Accredita-
tion Congress (IFSAC) or the National Board on Fire Service Professional Qualifications
(ProBoard) must comply with the following guidelines:

A. Candidate must complete the appropriate application and attach supporting docu-
mentation.

B. The candidate must be a member of a Missouri Fire Department and must have
the signature of the Fire Chief in order to request reciprocity.

C. Candidate must submit documentation of training and testing that complies with
each component of the appropriate NFPA Standard for desired level of certifica-
tion.  Documentation must be dated within the last 5 years.

D. Candidate must successfully pass the Division of Fire Safety’s written exam with a
minimum score of 70% for desired level of certification and practical skills exam,
where applicable.

E. Applicant must meet the general requirements for certification as outlined in the
appropriate certification booklet.

Reciprocity
Individuals holding certification accredited by the International Fire Service Accreditation
Congress (IFSAC) or the National Board on Fire Service Professional Qualifications
(ProBoard) must comply with the following guidelines:

A. Candidate must complete the appropriate application and attach supporting docu-
mentation.

B. Certificates must clearly indicate IFSAC or ProBoard Accreditation for the level of
certification.

C. Provide the Division with written verification from the non-Missouri certifying au-
thority that the applicant’s certification is current, valid and in good standing.

D. The candidate must be a member of a Missouri Fire Department and must have
signature of the Fire Chief in order to request reciprocity

E. Applicant must meet the general requirements for certification as outlined in the
appropriate certification booklet.

The Missouri Division of Fire Safety Training Division will review and verify all documenta-
tion.  Once documentation has been reviewed and verified to meet the certification criteria,
the candidate will be issued reciprocity.  If documentation does not meet the certification
requirements, the candidate will be denied reciprocity. The candidate would then be re-
quired to complete an approved training program and meet all certification requirements
including but not limited to, passing written and practical skills certification exams.
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VII.  Suspension, Revocation or Denial

The Director of the Division of Fire Safety may suspend, revoke or deny certification to
any fire investigator when it is found that the individual:

A Has knowingly made a material misrepresentation of any information required
for any level of certification.

B. Has knowingly by any means of false pretense, deception, fraud, misrepresen-
tation or cheating, obtained training or certification.

C. Has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to a felony.

D. Fails to achieve a score of 70% on the certification examination or fails to
successfully complete the practical skills exercise of the fire scene examination
during the course.

All certifications currently held by the individual will be reviewed.
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VIII.  Appeal Process

Upon the revocation or denial of a certification level, the decision may be appealed in
writing to a Board of Appeals within 45 days of the date of the revocation or denial letter.

The Appeal Board will be made up of the following:

1. Two representatives of the Missouri Division of Fire Safety, Missouri Fire
Safety Education/Advisory Commission appointed by the State Fire Marshal.

2. A representative of the Missouri Department of Public Safety appointed by
the Department Director.

The Appeal Board may elect to:

1. Deny the appeal without action.

2. Make a recommendation to the Director of the Division of Fire Safety from the
written appeal.

3. Hold an informal appeal hearing with the individual revoked or denied certifica-
tion

The appeal board shall notify the Director of the Division of Fire Safety and the
individual submitting the appeal of its decision within 90 days of receipt of the ap-
peal.

Failure of any state certification exam SHALL NOT be grounds for appeal.

Page 10



MO_815-F0054 12/13

Date Received Department of Public Safety 
Division of Fire Safety 

PO Box 844, Jefferson City, MO 65102 
(573) 522-2426     FAX (573) 751-1744 

Website:  www.dfs.dps.mo.gov 

Date Approved 
 
 

 

Received By Approved By 
 Application for Division of Fire Safety 

Course Enrollment 
 

Course Applying For: (see website for Course Locations and Dates) 

 

Fire Investigator   
 
 

 
 

 

Fire Inspector    
  

Fire Officer 
 (for DFS Direct Delivery ONLY)  Fire Officer I  Fire Officer II 

  

Location of Course Applying for: Date of Course: 

  

Personal Information: 
Last 4 SSN # Last Name Suffix First Name M.I. County of 

Residence 

      
Mailing Address of Applicant City State Zip Code 

    

Driver’s License # D.L. State 
Personal Phone # 

 Home  Cell 
Email Address 

    
Date of Birth Sex Agency Type 

  Male  Female  Vol. FF  Paid FF  Private Ind. Other Local, State or Federal  

High School 
Diploma? 

If No, Highest Grade 
Completed? GED? College Degree? If yes, which major? 

  Yes       No    Yes       No  Yes     No  

Current Agency Information: 
Agency Name Agency Phone # County 

   
Street Address City State Zip Code 

    
Does your Dept. Enforce Codes? # Certified on Department # of Struct. Fires from Prev. Calendar Year 

Yes  No  Type_________ Inspectors____ Investigators____  

# Personnel on Dept. Job Title Yrs of Total 
Service Are You POST Certified? 

   Yes  No 
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Have you ever forfeited bond, entered a plea of guilt or been convicted of any 
criminal offense (other than minor traffic offenses)? 
 

Yes    No 
 

If yes, download a “Criminal Offense Statement” at 
http://www.dfs.dps.mo.gov/documents/forms/MO_815-F0047.pdf 

 
This form MUST be fully completed and submitted with this application. 

 

 
Prerequisite Training Courses Attending (attach documentation): 
 
Course and Location:________________________________________________________________ Hours:_________ 
 
Course and Location:________________________________________________________________ Hours:_________ 
 
 

 
 

Authorization for Release of Information 
 
 
(Print Full Name)________________________________________________________hereby certify 
that all statements made on or in connection with this application are true and complete to the best of 
my knowledge and belief.  I understand and agree that any misstatements or omissions of material 
facts will cause denial or forfeiture of my certifications. 
 
I further authorize all law enforcement agencies, U.S. Military, Federal, State and/or Local government 
agencies to furnish the Missouri Division of Fire Safety, with any and all information regarding me in 
order to determine suitability for certification.  I further release said agency or person from all liability 
for any damages whatsoever that may occur from furnishing such information to the Missouri Division 
of Fire Safety. 
 
Also, by signing this form, I hereby authorize the release of any or all information concerning my 
enrollment status for the courses requesting certification and certification exam results only to the 
Chief Officer or his designee of my organization. 
A photo-static copy of this authorization will be considered as effective and valid as the original. 
 
 
Signature of Applicant:          Date:       
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

To be completed by applicants Fire Chief or Academy Representative 
 
I certify that the above applicant meets the physical requirements set down by the ____________________________________________________ 
to perform the duties of fire fighter.             (Authority Having Jurisdiction) 
 
 
Signature:______________________________________________________________Date:___________________________________________ 
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Date Received Department of Public Safety 
Division of Fire Safety 

PO Box 844, Jefferson City, MO 65102 
(573) 522-2426     FAX (573) 751-1744 

Website:  www.dfs.dps.mo.gov 

Date Approved   
To Test 

 
 

 

Received By Approved By 
 Application for Testing and Certification  

 

Location for Testing:(see website for testing locations and dates) Date of Testing 
  

Personal Information: 
Last 4 SSN # Last Name Suffix First Name M.I. 

     
Mailing Address of Applicant City State Zip Code 

    
Driver’s License # D.L. State Personal Phone # 

  Home     Cell 
Email Address 

    
Date of Birth Sex High School Diploma?     GED? County of Residence 

   Male     Female   Yes       No Yes  No  

Current Agency Information: 
Agency Name Phone # Yrs of total Serv. County 

    
Street Address City State Zip Code 

    
Agency Type 

 Volunteer FD   Paid FD  Academy Student   Private     Other Local, State or Federal Agencies 

Check the Certification Test(s) Applying For: 
 
Fire Protection 

 
 Firefighter I 

 
 Firefighter II 

Was Firefighter II taken online? 
           Yes             No 

 
Hazardous Materials 

 
 Awareness 

 
 Operations  Technician 

Was HM Awareness online? 
  Yes         No 

 
Fire Officer 

 
 Fire Officer I 

 
 Fire Officer II 

 
 

 

 
Fire Service Instructor 

 
 Level I 

 
 Level II 

 
 

 
 

 
Driver/Operator 

 
 Pumper  

  

 
Fire Inspector 

 
  

  

 
Fire Investigator 
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Have you ever forfeited bond, entered a plea of guilt or been convicted of any 
criminal offense (other than minor traffic offenses)? 
 

Yes    No 
 

If yes, download a “Criminal Offense Statement” at 
http://www.dfs.dps.mo.gov/documents/forms/MO_815-F0047.pdf 

 
This form MUST be fully completed and submitted with this application. 

 
 
 

Authorization for Release of Information 
 
I, (Print Full Name)__________________________________________________hereby certify that 
all statements made on or in connection with this application are true and complete to the best of my 
knowledge and belief.  I understand and agree that any misstatements or omissions of material facts 
will cause denial or forfeiture of my certifications. 
 
I further authorize all law enforcement agencies, U.S. Military, Federal, State and/or Local 
government agencies to furnish the Missouri Division of Fire Safety, with any and all information 
regarding me in order to determine suitability for certification.  I further release said agency or person 
from all liability for any damages whatsoever that may occur from furnishing such information to the 
Missouri Division of Fire Safety. 
 
Also, by signing this form, I hereby authorize the release of any or all information concerning my 
enrollment status for the courses requesting certification and certification exam results only to the 
Chief Officer or his designee of my organization. 
A photo-static copy of this authorization will be considered as effective and valid as the original. 

 

Signature of Applicant:                 Date:                  
 
 
 
 
s 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

Testing will be scheduled by the State Fire Marshal’s Office, Training and Certification Unit. 
 

COMPLETED APPLICATION MUST BE RECEIVED AND APPROVED PRIOR TO TESTING 
              

To be completed by the Lead Instructor of a Division of Fire Safety Registered and Approved Course 
 
It is hereby confirmed that the above applicant has attended and successfully completed an approved course as checked above. 
 
Location:______________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
Signature:______________________________________________________________Date:___________________________________________ 

Hazardous Materials Levels & Fire Fighter I and II ONLY 
To be completed by applicants Fire Chief, Academy Representative or Agency Supervisor 

 
I certify that the above applicant meets the physical and medical requirements set down by the ______________________________________ 
to perform the duties of the applicable NFPA standard.           (Authority Having Jurisdiction) 
 
 
Signature:______________________________________________________________Date:___________________________________________ 


