

205 Jefferson Street, Suite 1315 Mailing Address: P.O. Box 844 Jefferson City, MO 65102-0844 Telephone: (573) 751-2930 E-Mail: *investigation@dfs.dps.mo.gov* Website: *www.dfs.dps.mo.gov*

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY Division Of Fire Safety

December 30, 2019

All users of explosives within Missouri are required by state statute to submit an annual report to the State Fire Marshal's Office by January 31 of each year.

Missouri 11CSR 40-7.010.5 states:

Each registered person using explosives in Missouri shall, by January 31 of each year after registering, file an annual report with the division for the preceding calendar year.

- (Å) The initial annual report shall only include that portion of the preceding calendar year after the date the person became subject to the requirement to register.
- (B) The report shall include:
 - 1. Any change or addition to the information required in this section;
 - 2. The name and address of the distributors from which explosives were purchased;
 - 3. The total number of pounds of explosives purchased for use in Missouri; and
 - 4. The total number of pounds actually used in Missouri during the period covered by the report.
- (C) Persons required to report annually shall maintain records sufficient to prove the accuracy of the information reported.
- (D) The person using explosives shall submit with the report, an explosive use fee of five hundred dollars (\$500) plus two dollars (\$2) per ton of explosives or explosive materials used within the state.
 - 1. If the report of total pounds used results in a portion of a ton, the cumulative total of the fee shall be rounded to the nearest ton.
 - 2. In the event that less than one (1) ton of explosives has been used in the reporting period, the five hundred dollar (\$500) annual fee shall be submitted with the annual report to the division.
- (E) The division may audit the records of any person using explosives required to report annually to determine the accuracy of the number of pounds of explosives reported.

In connection with such audit, the division may also require any distributor of explosives to provide a statement of sales during the year to persons required to report.

Under section (A) above, the 2019 reporting period shall be from January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019. The weight of detonators and detonating cord should not be included in this total, as fees are not required on these items. The fee per ton of explosives used between January 1, 2019 and December 31, 2019 is to be calculated at \$2.00 per ton of explosives used.

Please review the enclosed "Explosive User Verification Form" record and return it noting any changes or corrections. Also please complete the enclosed annual report form and submit it with the appropriate fee to the Missouri Division of Fire Safety at P.O. Box 844, Jefferson City, MO 65102 **no later than January 31, 2020**. Only cashier's checks, bank drafts, money orders or business checks payable to the "Division of Fire Safety" will be accepted. Cash or personal checks will not be accepted.

Sincerely,

Stephen Grass Deputy Chief Investigations and Explosives Enforcement



DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY MISSOURI DIVISION OF FIRE SAFETY 2019 Explosive User Annual Report

This report must be completed and submitted with the appropriate fee to the Missouri Division of Fire Safety no later than January 31, 2020.

Business Name:

Business Address:

City:

Distributors from which explosives were purchased in 2019

State:

Distributor Name:

Address:

Distributor Name:

Address:

Distributor Name:

Address:

Total number of pounds of explosives purchased for use in Missouri in 2019

Total number of tons of explosives used in Missouri – 01/01/2019 – 12/31/2019 (If the report of total pounds used results in a portion of a ton, the cumulative total of the fee shall be rounded to the nearest ton)	X \$2.00 per ton =	
	Annual Fee	+ \$500.00
	Total Fee Due	

To be completed by Principal Individual Having Responsibility for Supervision of the Use of Explosives					
I certify that the information contained in this is accurate and complete to the best of my knowledge.					
Print Name	Signature	Date			

Division of Fire Safety Use Only:		
Check No.:	Registration No.:	

Zip:

MISSOURI DIVISION OF FIRE SAFETY 2019 Explosive User Annual Report

The Missouri Blasting Safety Act requires each person using explosives that is required to register shall file an annual report with the Division of Fire Safety for the period of January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019 no later than January 31, 2020.

If you are involved in Missouri's blasting industry, it is your responsibility to be familiar with and know Missouri law, RSMo. 319.303 to 319.345. Copy of the Missouri Revised Statutes pertaining to blasting can be obtained from our website at <u>www.dfs.dps.mo.gov</u> or by calling 573-751-2930.

RSMo. 319.318.

- (1) The division of fire safety may audit the records of any person using explosives required to report annually under subsection 4 of this section to determine the accuracy of the number of pounds of explosives reported. In connection with such audit, the division of fire safety may also require any distributor of explosives to provide a statement of sales during the year to persons required to report under subsection 4 of this section.
- (2) It shall be a violation of sections 319.300 to 319.345 to fail to register or report as required by subsection 3 of this section or knowingly report false information in the reports required under subsections 3 and 4 of this section. The state fire marshal may issue a notice of violation under section 319.333 for failure to register or report or for knowingly reporting false information in the reports required by subsections 3 and 4 of this section. The notice of violation shall be subject to the same procedures and rights of appeal as established in sections 319.324, 319.327, and 319.333.
- (3) Any person who fails to register or report or who knowingly reports false information in the reports required under subsections 3 and 4 of this section shall be subject to a civil penalty not exceeding two thousand dollars for the first offense or a penalty not exceeding five thousand dollars for a second or subsequent offense. Fees for use of explosives not reported shall also be paid.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR REGISTRATION

To ensure prompt processing of the 2019 Explosive User Annual Report, please follow the checklist below:

- Please print in ink or type.
- Submit total fee. The person using explosives shall submit with the annual report a fee per ton based on the amount of explosives used in Missouri. If the report of total pounds used results in a portion of a ton, the cumulative total of the fee shall be rounded to the nearest ton. *The fee shall be \$500 plus \$2.00 per ton of explosives used from January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019.*
- Only cashier's checks, bank drafts, money orders or business check payable to the "Missouri Division of Fire Safety" will be accepted. (*Cash or personal checks will not be accepted.*)
- Completed form and fee must be submitted by January 31, 2020.
- Mail form and fee to Division of Fire Safety, Investigations and Explosives Enforcement, P.O. Box 844, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102.