Private Fire Investigator
Missouri State Statute RSMo 324.1100 to RSMo 324.1148 requires private fire investigators doing business in the state of Missouri to “provide evidence of active certification as a fire investigator issued by the division of fire safety.”
To become a state Certified Fire Investigator individuals must meet one of three requirements:
- Successfully complete the division’s Fire Investigator course and then obtain certification through the division by passing the written and practical skills certification exams.
- Hold a current certification as a Fire Investigator by the Missouri Division of Fire Safety.
- Apply for reciprocity with the Division of Fire Safety by providing verification of current certification as a Fire Investigator issued by a certifying entity which is accredited through the International Fire Service Accreditation Congress (IFSAC) or the Fire Service Professional Qualifications System (Pro Board).
Individuals holding current Fire Investigator certification from another accredited state, Canadian Province or the IAAI may apply for reciprocity through the state of Missouri. A copy of a current IFSAC or Pro Board accredited certificate must be submitted along with the application. To apply for reciprocity visit the Equivalency/Reciprocity page for instructions and an application.
Missouri Fire Investigator Course Information
Those who do not meet the above requirements will need to attend the Missouri Division of Fire Safety’s 40-hour Fire Investigator Course and pass the required certification exams. To obtain course availability contact firstname.lastname@example.org.
Preregistration is required and class size is strictly limited. Prerequisite documentation must be submitted along with the course application in order to be considered. Payment of $250 must be submitted along with the application and should be made payable to the Professional Fire and Fraud Investigators Association. Accepted applicants will receive a confirmation of attendance by email once all of the required documentation is received.
For more information about the course and certification process please read the Fire Investigator Certification booklet or contact the Training and Certification Unit at 573-522-4849.